Blog
Hinweis: Beiträge werden automatisch aus dem Englischen übersetzt. Für den Originalinhalt besuchen Sie bitte unsere englische Seite. Einige Übersetzungen sind möglicherweise nicht perfekt; wir danken Ihnen für Ihr Verständnis.
picture

Bereit für das neue Schweizer Datenschutzgesetz? Auswirkungen für Organisationen ausserhalb der Schweiz

Women called Charlotte in a pantsuit. Andreas

Das revidierte Bundesgesetz über den Datenschutz (“DSG-Revision”) tritt am 1. September 2023 in Kraft. Es mag nicht überraschen, dass diese Aktualisierung der Version von 1992 das schweizerische Datenschutzsystem stärker an die Bestimmungen der Datenschutz-Grundverordnung anpasst. Dies beinhaltet die Einführung neuer, strengerer Verpflichtungen für ausländische Unternehmen, die in der Schweiz tätig sind, wie z. B. das Erfordernis, einen Schweizer Vertreter zu benennen. Außerdem werden die Rechte der betroffenen Personen stärker betont und neue Anforderungen an die Meldung von Datenschutzverletzungen gestellt, auf die sich die Unternehmen einstellen müssen. Im Folgenden gehen wir auf die wichtigsten Auswirkungen dieser Änderungen für Unternehmen außerhalb der Schweiz ein.

Ausweitung des territorialen Anwendungsbereichs

Die RevFADP erweitert den territorialen Anwendungsbereich des Schweizer Datenschutzregimes in Anlehnung an die Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (DSGVO) erheblich, um sicherzustellen, dass Unternehmen weltweit für den Schutz der personenbezogenen Daten von Schweizer Bürgern verantwortlich sind. Der extraterritoriale Anwendungsbereich der RevFADP ist jedoch größer als der ihres europäischen Vorbilds, da das neue Schweizer Gesetz auf Sachverhalte anwendbar ist, die sich in der Schweiz auswirken, auch wenn solche Aktivitäten vom Ausland aus initiiert werden. Dies bedeutet, dass die schweizerische Aufsichtsbehörde, der EDÖB, für die Durchsetzung der RevFADP in Bezug auf jede Tätigkeit mit Auswirkungen in der Schweiz zuständig ist, auch wenn diese Auswirkungen außerhalb der Schweizer Grenzen verursacht werden. In der Praxis bedeutet dies, dass - wie bei der DSGVO - Organisationen, die sich mit Waren oder Dienstleistungen an Schweizer Bürger wenden oder deren Verhalten überwachen, die Anforderungen der RevFADP erfüllen müssen. Darüber hinaus bedeutet dies, dass Organisationen, die personenbezogene Daten auf Servern in der Schweiz speichern, unter die neue Schweizer Datenschutzgesetzgebung fallen.

Neue Verpflichtung zur Bestellung eines Vertreters in der Schweiz

Eine wichtige Änderung für Organisationen, die unter den extraterritorialen Geltungsbereich der RevFADP fallen, ist die neue Verpflichtung zur Bestellung eines Vertreters in der Schweiz. Diese Verpflichtung wird ausgelöst, wenn eine Organisation ohne Firmensitz in der Schweiz personenbezogene Daten von Personen in der Schweiz verarbeitet und diese Verarbeitungstätigkeiten im Zusammenhang stehen mit:

  • dem Angebot von Waren und/oder Dienstleistungen an diese Personen (Kriterium der Zielgruppenorientierung) oder der Überwachung des Verhaltens dieser Personen (Kriterium der Überwachung)
  • und wenn diese Datenverarbeitung
  • in grossem Umfang
  • regelmäßig durchgeführt wird
  • und ein hohes Risiko für die betroffene Person darstellt

Auch wenn die Anforderung, einen Schweizer Vertreter zu benennen, zweifellos von der Datenschutz-Grundverordnung inspiriert ist, gibt es wieder einige bemerkenswerte Unterschiede. Die beiden wichtigsten Unterschiede sind:

  • die Art der Organisationsstruktur, die erforderlich ist, um als lokaler für die Verarbeitung Verantwortlicher zu gelten, d.h. der Unterschied zwischen dem Unternehmenssitz nach der RevFADP und der Niederlassung nach der GDPR
  • die Qualifikation der Datenverarbeitung als umfangreich, regelmäßig und risikoreich sind Anwendungskriterien unter der RevFADP, während diese Kriterien in der GDPR umgedreht und als Ausnahme formuliert werden

Eine Niederlassung im Sinne der Datenschutz-Grundverordnung ist jede Art von fester Einrichtung, z. B. eine Zweigstelle oder ein Büro, aber die Gründung eines Unternehmens ist nicht unbedingt erforderlich. Demgegenüber verlangt der Wortlaut der RevFADP einen Unternehmenssitz, die inoffizielle englische Übersetzung übersetzt dies mit “registered office”.

Es gibt bisher keine Kommentarliteratur, die Klarheit darüber schafft, welche Art von Struktur in der Schweiz erforderlich ist, um nicht unter die Pflicht zur Bestellung eines Vertreters zu fallen. Der Wortlaut selbst deutet darauf hin, dass zumindest eine Art von Registrierung entweder als eigenständige Einheit oder als eingetragener Sitz vorhanden sein muss, weshalb die Anforderung, einen Vertreter zu bestellen, unter der RevFADP in dieser Hinsicht weiter gefasst ist als unter der DSGVO. Unternehmen mit einer Niederlassung in der Schweiz können auch ihre Tochtergesellschaft als Vertreter benennen, sollten aber vorher prüfen, ob die Tochtergesellschaft in der Lage ist, sich mit Datenschutzfragen in der Schweiz zu befassen.

Andererseits schränken die zusätzlichen Qualifikationen für die Datenverarbeitung den Anwendungsbereich ein, da sie auf datenintensive und risikoreiche Geschäftsmodelle abzielen. Im Gegensatz dazu werden unter der DSGVO die gleichen Kriterien, die als Ausnahmen vorgesehen sind, nur sehr selten ausgelöst.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier: Prighter als Schweizer DSG Vertreter.

Die Rolle des Vertreters

Die Rolle des Schweizer Vertreters hat sich durch die DSGVO deutlich weiterentwickelt. Der Vertreter soll eine lokale, zugängliche Anlaufstelle für Schweizer Betroffene und für die Schweizer Aufsichtsbehörde (EDÖB) sein. Die RevFADP verlangt von den für die Verarbeitung Verantwortlichen, den Namen und die Adresse des Beauftragten zu veröffentlichen, damit betroffene Personen, die ihre Rechte über den Beauftragten ausüben wollen, dies problemlos tun können. Auch wenn die RevFADP nicht ausdrücklich vorschreibt, diese Informationen in den Datenschutzhinweis des für die Verarbeitung Verantwortlichen aufzunehmen, wie es in der Datenschutz-Grundverordnung der Fall ist, so ist dies doch ein naheliegender Ort, um solche Informationen aufzunehmen. Die Aufnahme des Erfordernisses, einen Vertreter zu benennen, spiegelt die umfassenderen Rechte der betroffenen Person wider, die in der RevFADP im Vergleich zu den schweizerischen Gesetzen von 1992 festgelegt sind, und unterstreicht den Schwerpunkt auf der Befähigung von Personen, die Kontrolle über ihre personenbezogenen Daten zu behalten. Der Vertreter muss zur Verfügung stehen, um betroffene Personen darüber zu informieren, wie sie ihre Rechte ausüben können, und die Übermittlung solcher Anfragen an für die Verarbeitung Verantwortliche außerhalb der Schweiz ermöglichen, um diese Rechte für Schweizer Personen zu wahren.

Aus diesem Grund muss es sich bei dem Vertreter um ein in der Schweiz ansässiges Unternehmen oder eine dort lebende natürliche Person handeln. Briefkastenlösungen wären nicht in der Lage, die Rolle eines Vertreters auszufüllen und sind daher nicht geeignet, um die Anforderung zu erfüllen, einen Vertreter in der Schweiz zu benennen.

Neben der Sicherstellung der Kommunikation zwischen ausländischen Organisationen und dem EDÖB ist der Vertreter auch für die Führung des Verzeichnisses der Verarbeitungstätigkeiten des für die Verarbeitung Verantwortlichen verantwortlich und muss dieses der Aufsichtsbehörde auf Anfrage vorlegen.

Neue Bestimmungen für Datenschutzverletzungen

Neue Vorschriften für die Meldung von Datenverletzungen bedeuten, dass die für die Verarbeitung Verantwortlichen verpflichtet sind, den EDÖB so schnell wie möglich über eine Datenverletzung zu informieren, wenn die Verletzung wahrscheinlich ein hohes Risiko für die Persönlichkeit oder die Grundrechte der betroffenen Person zur Folge hat. In Ermangelung von Leitlinien des EDÖB ist zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt unklar, ob es eine Frist für die “schnellstmögliche” Benachrichtigung geben wird, so wie die Datenschutz-Grundverordnung vorschreibt, dass solche Benachrichtigungen innerhalb von 72 Stunden erfolgen müssen. Die für die Verarbeitung Verantwortlichen sind auch verpflichtet, die von der Verletzung betroffenen Personen zu informieren, wenn dies zum Schutz der betroffenen Personen erforderlich ist, z. B. wenn eine solche Benachrichtigung es den betroffenen Personen ermöglicht, Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um die Auswirkungen der Verletzung für sie zu begrenzen. Nicht-schweizerische Organisationen können sich bei Bedarf an ihren Schweizer Vertreter wenden, um Unterstützung bei der Meldung von Datenschutzverletzungen zu erhalten.

Geldbußen bei Nichteinhaltung

Im Gegensatz zur DSGVO sieht die RevFADP keine zivilrechtlichen Strafen für nicht konforme Organisationen vor. Stattdessen können vorsätzliche Verstöße gegen das revidierte Schweizer Recht durch Personen, die für private für die Verarbeitung Verantwortliche handeln, strafrechtliche Sanktionen in Form von Geldbußen von bis zu 250.000 CHF nach sich ziehen. Solche Bußgelder werden höchstwahrscheinlich gegen Führungskräfte und Verantwortliche für das Datenschutzprogramm einer Organisation (z. B. Datenschutzbeauftragte) verhängt und umfassen Geldbußen für:

  • vorsätzlich falsche oder unvollständige Angaben (i) bei der Erhebung personenbezogener Daten (Art. 19), (ii) im Zusammenhang mit der automatisierten Entscheidungsfindung (Art. 21) und (iii) unter Verstoß gegen die Verpflichtung zum Datenschutzhinweis (Art. 25-27) - siehe Art. 60(1&2)
  • vorsätzliche Erteilung falscher Auskünfte und Verweigerung der Zusammenarbeit bei einer Untersuchung des EDÖB, einschließlich der Verweigerung der Übermittlung der erforderlichen Informationen an den EDÖB (Art. 49(3)) - siehe Art. 60(2)
  • die vorsätzliche Bekanntgabe von Personendaten ausserhalb der Schweizer Grenzen unter Verletzung der Bestimmungen über die grenzüberschreitende Übermittlung (Art. 16 und 17) und die vorsätzliche Nichterfüllung der Anforderungen von Art. 9 in Bezug auf die Ernennung von Datenbearbeitern - Art. 61
  • Verstöße gegen die berufliche Schweigepflicht in Bezug auf personenbezogene Daten (Art. 62)
  • vorsätzliche Nichtbefolgung einer Anordnung des DPIC (Art. 63)

Können die für solche Versäumnisse oder vorsätzlichen Verstöße gegen die RevFADP verantwortlichen Personen nicht ermittelt werden, kann stattdessen die Organisation selbst mit einer Geldstrafe belegt werden. Derartige Bussen für private Kontrolleure werden jedoch 50’000 CHF nicht übersteigen.

Vergleich der RevFADP mit der GDPR

Die folgende Tabelle gibt einen Überblick über die Unterschiede zwischen der DSGVO und der Schweizer RevFADP in Bezug auf die in diesem Artikel genannten Themen:

GDPR RevFADP Notable Difference
Material Scope
Art 2 (1): the processing of personal data Art 2 (1): the processing of personal data The RevFADP has a more pragmatic approach when it comes to identifiable data. Only if someone is willing and, with reasonable efforts, able to link data back to an individual, is the data considered identifiable. In Case T‑557/20 European General Court (EGC) took a similar approach.
Territorial Scope
Art 3 (2): controllers and processors without an establishment when targeting or monitoring data subjects in the EU Art 3 (1): circumstances which have an effect in Switzerland Whereas the GDPR ties the applicability to actions taken by a controller or processor, the Swiss effect doctrine takes a passive approach and includes circumstances which do not relate to selling good/service in the Swiss market or monitoring the behaviour of Swiss data subjects.
Representation
Art 27: appoint a representative if:
- no establishment in the EU;
- targeting or monitoring EU data subjects.
Art 14: appoint a representative if:
- no corporate seat in Switzerland;
- targeting or monitoring individuals in Switzerland;
- processing being on a large scale, regularly and posing a high risk.
The fact that the requirement to appoint a representative under the RevFADP applies to all organizations without a corporate seat in contrast to an establishment under the GDPR results in a broader applicability whereas the additional qualifications narrow the scope again.
Data Breach Reporting
Art 33(1): obligation to report data breaches posing any risk within 72 hours. Art 24(1): obligation to report data breaches which pose a high risk as soon as possible. The RevFADP excludes all breaches below the threshold of “high risk” and is more flexible on the timing of the notification.
Fines
Art 83(4,5): administrative fines addressed to companies depending on the type of violation either € 10 Mio/2% global turnover or € 20 Mio/4% global turnover Arts 60-63 criminal liability of responsible person with fines of up to CHF 250,000. The GDPR became famous because of the exorbitant fines, Swiss RevFADP frightens C-levels because of the criminal liability.

Zusammenfassung

Die Schweiz ist von der EU umgeben, und so ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass sich die Schweizer RevFADP von der DSGVO inspirieren lässt. Es macht auch durchaus Sinn, ein höheres Maß an Harmonisierung zwischen den Datenschutzregelungen der EU und der Schweiz herbeizuführen, um die Einhaltung zu erleichtern. Allerdings gibt es einige wesentliche Unterschiede, die Unternehmen beachten sollten. Nicht-schweizerische Organisationen müssen die Ernennung eines Vertreters für den 1. September in Betracht ziehen.

Wenden Sie sich an Prighter, um weitere Informationen über das Schweizer RevFADP zu erhalten und um einen seriösen Anbieter als Ihren Vertreter in der Schweiz zu benennen.

Understand RevFADP's impact on non-Swiss firms. Navigate expanded scope, local representation, and potential fines. Stay compliant with the Swiss Data Law 2023. | Prighter
Blog
picture

Ready for the new Swiss Data Protection Law? Implications for organizations outside Switzerland

Women called Charlotte in a pantsuit. Andreas

Charlotte Mason, Andreas Maetzler

The revised Swiss Federal Act on Data Protection (“RevFADP”) comes into force on 1 September 2023. Unsurprisingly perhaps, this upgrade to the 1992 version brings Switzerland’s data protection regime into greater alignment with the provisions of the GDPR. This includes the introduction of new, more stringent obligations on non-Swiss companies doing business in Switzerland, such as the requirement to appoint a Swiss representative. There is also an increased emphasis on the commitment to data subject rights as well as new requirements in respect of data breach reporting, both of which organizations will need to be prepared for. We look here at the key implications of these changes for companies outside of Switzerland.

Expansion of the territorial scope

The RevFADP significantly broadens the territorial scope of application of the Swiss data protection regime, taking inspiration from the GDPR, to ensure that companies worldwide remain accountable for the protection of Swiss individual’s personal information. The extra-territorial scope of the RevFADP is, however, wider than that of its European muse in that the new Swiss law applies to circumstances that have an effect in Switzerland even if such activities are initiated from abroad. This means that the Swiss supervisory authority, the FDPIC, is competent to enforce the RevFADP in respect of any activity with an impact in Switzerland even if such effect is caused outside of Swiss borders. In practice this means that, like the GDPR, organizations targeting goods or services to Swiss individuals or monitoring their behaviour will now have to comply with the requirements of RevFADP. In addition to that, it means that organizations storing personal data on servers located in Switzerland will be caught by the new Swiss data protection legislation.

New obligation to appoint a representative in Switzerland

An important change to note for organizations caught by the extra-territorial scope of the RevFADP is the new requirement to appoint a representative in Switzerland. Such requirement is triggered if an organization without a corporate seat in Switzerland is processing personal data of individuals in Switzerland and such processing activities are connected to:

  • the offer of goods and/or services to those individuals (targeting criterion) or the monitoring of the behaviours of those individuals (monitoring criterion)
  • and where such data processing is
    • on a large scale
    • carried out regularly
    • and poses a high risk to the data subject

While the requirement to appoint a Swiss representative is no doubt inspired by the GDPR, there are again some noteworthy differences. The two major differences to highlight are:

  • the kind of organizational structure which is required to be considered as a local controller, namely the difference between the corporate seat under the RevFADP in contrast to the establishment under GDPR
  • the qualification of the data processing being on a large scale, regularly and posing a high risk are application criteria under the RevFADP whereas in the GDPR these criteria are turned around and formulated as exemption

An establishment under the GDPR is any kind of stable arrangement, for example a branch or office, but the incorporation of an entity is not necessarily required. In contrast, the wording of the RevFADP requires a corporate seat, the unofficial English translation translates this as a “registered office”.

There is no commentary literature so far to provide clarity as to what kind of structure is required in Switzerland to not fall under the requirement to appoint a representative. The wording itself suggests that there needs to be at least some kind of registration either as separate entity or a registered office which is why in this aspect the requirement to appoint a representative under the RevFADP is wider than under the GDPR. Companies with an entity in Switzerland can also appoint their subsidiary as representative but should consider the subsidiaries ability to deal with data protection matters in Switzerland before doing so.

On the other hand, the additional qualifications of the data processing narrow the scope because they target the data intense and risky business models. In contrast, under the GDPR the same criteria stipulated as exemptions are very rarely ever triggered.

Find more information on the Swiss representation here.

Role of the representative

The role of the Swiss representative has plainly evolved from the GDPR. The representative exists to act a local, accessible point of contact for Swiss data subjects and for the Swiss supervisory authority (the FDPIC). The representative is designed to be a public appointment and the RevFADP requires controllers to publish the name and address of their designated rep to ensure that data subjects wishing to exercise their rights via the representative can easily do so. While there is no express requirement under the RevFADP to include this information in the controller’s privacy notice as there is under the GDPR, nevertheless this remains an obvious place to include such information. The inclusion of the requirement to appoint a representative reflects the broader data subject rights set out under the RevFADP compared to the 1992 Swiss laws, highlighting the focus on empowering individuals to remain in control of their personal information. The representative must be on hand to provide data subjects with information on how they can exercise their rights and enable the communication of such requests to controllers outside of Switzerland to preserve such rights for Swiss individuals.

For this reason, the representative needs to be a company established in Switzerland or an individual living there. Post-box solutions would not be able to fill the role of a representative and are therefore not suitable to comply with the requirement to appoint a representative in Switzerland.

In addition to ensuring the facilitation of communication between non-Swiss organizations and the FDPIC, the representative will also be responsible for maintaining the controller’s record of processing activities and will be required to provide these to the supervisory authority on request.

New provisions for data breaches

New data breach notification requirements mean that controllers are obliged to inform the FDPIC of a breach having occurred as soon as possible where the breach is likely to result in a high risk to the data subject’s personality or fundamental rights. In the absence of any guidance from the FDPIC, at this stage it is unclear whether there will be any time limit in respect of making such notifications “as soon as possible” in the same way as the GDPR stipulates that such notifications must be made within 72 hours. Controllers are also required to inform data subjects affected by the breach if required for the data subjects’ protection, for example where such notification enables data subjects to take measures to limit the impact to them of the breach. Non-Swiss organizations can look to their Swiss representative for support in the notification of data breaches where required.

Fines for non-compliance

In contrast to the GDPR, the RevFADP does not create civil penalties for non-compliant organizations. Instead, intentional violations of the revised Swiss law by individuals acting for private controllers may result in criminal sanctions in the form of fines of up to CHF 250,000. Such fines will most likely be levied against C-Level executives and those responsible for an organization’s data protection program (e.g., DPOs) and include fines for:

  • wilfully providing false or incomplete information (i) at the point personal data is collected (Art 19), (ii) in respect of automated decision making (Art 21) and (iii) in breach of privacy notice obligations (Arts 25-27) – see Art 60(1&2)
  • wilfully providing false information and failing to cooperate with an FDPIC investigation, including failing to provide the FDPIC with the requisite information (Art 49(3)) - see Art 60(2)
  • wilful disclosure of personal data outside of Swiss boarders in violation of the provisions on cross-boarder transfers (Art 16 & 17) and to wilful failure to satisfy the requirements of Art 9 in relation to the appointment of data processors – Art 61
  • violations of professional duty of confidentiality in respect of personal data (Art 62)
  • wilful failure to comply with an order of the DPIC (Art 63)

Where the individuals responsible for such failings or intentional breaches of the RevFADP cannot be reasonably determined then the organization itself may be fined in lieu. Fines of this nature for private controllers will not exceed CHF 50,000, however.

Comparison of the RevFADP with the GDPR

The following table gives an overview of the differences between the GDPR and the Swiss RevFADP regarding the topics mentioned in this article:

GDPRRevFADPNotable Difference
Material Scope
Art 2 (1): the processing of personal dataArt 2 (1): the processing of personal dataThe RevFADP has a more pragmatic approach when it comes to identifiable data. Only if someone is willing and, with reasonable efforts, able to link data back to an individual, is the data considered identifiable. In Case T‑557/20 European General Court (EGC) took a similar approach.
Territorial Scope
Art 3 (2): controllers and processors without an establishment when targeting or monitoring data subjects in the EUArt 3 (1): circumstances which have an effect in SwitzerlandWhereas the GDPR ties the applicability to actions taken by a controller or processor, the Swiss effect doctrine takes a passive approach and includes circumstances which do not relate to selling good/service in the Swiss market or monitoring the behaviour of Swiss data subjects.
Representation
Art 27: appoint a representative if:
- no establishment in the EU;
- targeting or monitoring EU data subjects.
Art 14: appoint a representative if:
- no corporate seat in Switzerland;
- targeting or monitoring individuals in Switzerland;
- processing being on a large scale, regularly and posing a high risk.
The fact that the requirement to appoint a representative under the RevFADP applies to all organizations without a corporate seat in contrast to an establishment under the GDPR results in a broader applicability whereas the additional qualifications narrow the scope again.
Data Breach Reporting
Art 33(1): obligation to report data breaches posing any risk within 72 hours.Art 24(1): obligation to report data breaches which pose a high risk as soon as possible.The RevFADP excludes all breaches below the threshold of “high risk” and is more flexible on the timing of the notification.
Fines
Art 83(4,5): administrative fines addressed to companies depending on the type of violation either € 10 Mio/2% global turnover or € 20 Mio/4% global turnoverArts 60-63 criminal liability of responsible person with fines of up to CHF 250,000.The GDPR became famous because of the exorbitant fines, Swiss RevFADP frightens C-levels because of the criminal liability.

Summary

Switzerland is surrounded by the EU so it is no wonder that the Swiss RevFADP takes its inspirations from the GDPR. It also makes perfect sense to bring a greater level of harmonisation between the EU and Swiss the data protections regimes to make compliance easier. However, there are some significant differences companies should be aware of. Non-Swiss organizations need to consider the appointment of a representative ready for the 1 September.

Contact Prighter for more information on the Swiss RevFADP and to appoint a reputable provider as your representative in Switzerland here.